COLLEGE OF FOOD AND DAIRY TECHNOLOGY, KODUVALLI

History

Indian agriculture widens its horizon by catapulting the generation of farm produces beyond requirement of our populace but the availability factor in finished form to the intended consumers is not guaranteed due to faulty or delayed post-harvest management practices. Food technology is a newer discipline which assures food security by safe guarding and improving the quality of vast resources of food stuffs that suits the saying 'food saved is food produced and provided' to all the intended consumers especially to deprived class of society. With this background, Government of Tamil Nadu has issued a G.O Ms. No. 376 dated 19.11.1991 to start "Institute of Dairying" in Tiruvallur District at Koduvalli over a landscape of 82.12 acres in the outskirts of Chennai on Redhills to Tiruvallur highway located at an equidistance of 25 km from Chennai Central Railway station and Koyambedu bus terminus.

To cater to the rising demand in skilled manpower requirement in food processing sector, a degree programme in B.Tech (Food Technology) with an intake capacity of 20 seats per year has been incepted during the year 2006 at this Institute of Food and Dairy Technology which attained a state of full-fledged educational organization under the ambit of Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Sciences University for the ultimate output of professional graduates specialized in food processing, quality control, novel nutritious product development, food trade and business management. Institute of Food and Dairy Technology has been renamed as College of Food and Dairy Technology (CFDT) in the year 2012 with the induction of Post Graduate programmes in M.Tech and Ph.D (Food Technology) from the year 2011-2012 and 2013-2014 with the present intake of 10 and 5 seats respectively.

Milk is considered as an essential food item, the availability of which is a significant mandate of state owned Tamil Nadu Co-operative Milk Producers Federation Ltd. (TCMPF) - Aavin by regulated procurement through Milk societies from producers and supply of processed milk to consumers through its retail outlets at concessional price. To handle the milk surge at production points in villages with urging demand for milk among urbanites and requirements of skilled technocrats in milk processing industries operated by Government and Private sectors as well, Government of Tamil Nadu has instituted a degree programme in B.Tech (Dairy Technology) with an annual intake of 20 seats from the academic year 2014 vide its G.O.Ms No.220 dated: 30.10.2014. The institute of this stature is duly recognized by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi for the degree programmes in B.Tech / M.Tech (Food Technology) and accredited to Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi for the Under graduate degrees offered by this organization. Technology business incubation scheme encompasses well equipped food processing plants for pilot and commercial scale production of Pasteurized milk, Ice cream, Fruit & Vegetable products, Shelf stable food products, Meat and Egg products. This institute has implemented 14 numbers of Research and Extension Development projects funded by the various Ministries under Government of India and State Government, which has carved a niche in the area of its expertise developed through schemes with the involvement of 21 numbers of full time Teaching faculties and Research Scientists.

Mandate

  • To offer academic programmes in Food Technology
  • To take up the need based research programme in Food technology
  • To create strong linkage with food industries and in extension education programmes

EDUCATION

DEPARTMENTS

RESEARCH PROJECTS

INFRASTRUCTURE

EXTRA CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES

Faculty

Dean
Dr. D.Baskaran, Faculty of Food Sciences |baskaran.d@tanuvas.ac.in |

Department of Food Science and Technology
Dr.D.Ramasamy, Professor and Head, d.ramasamy@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91- 9884957813
Dr. T.R.Pugazhenthi, Associate Professor, pugazhenthi.t.r@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9444509309
Dr.K.S.Gnanalaksshmi, Assistant Professor, gnanalaksshmi.k.s@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9445199034
Dr.B.Karthikeyan, Assistant Professor, karthikeyan.b@tanuvas.ac.in , Mobile: +91-9600589945
Dr.R.Marx Nirmal, Assistant Professor, marxnirmal.r@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9994430825
Er.D.Ramasamy, Assistant Professor, ramasamy.d@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9659898559
Thiru.I.Manikkavasagan, Assistant Professor, manikkavasagan.i@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9445153429
Dr.Esther Magdalene Sharon, Assistant Professor, emsharon.m@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9629946083

Department of Food Engineering
Dr. A.Karthiayani, Assistant Professor, karthiayani.a@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9952340320
Er. G.Sujatha, Assistant Professor, sujatha.g@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9994247990
Er. G.Velayudham, Assistant professor, velayudham.g@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9487159094
Tmt. S.K.Mathanghi, Assistant Professor, mathanghi.s.k@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9941625003
Er. J.Jerish Joyner, Assistant professor, jerishjoyner.j@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9842187512

Department of Food and Industrial Microbiology
Dr.B.Murugan, Professor and Head, murugan.b@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9444217792
Dr. P.Selvan, Assistant Professor, selvan.p@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9790813709
Dr.P.Geetha, Assistant Professor, geetha.p@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9791177930

Department of Food Chemistry and Nutrition
Tmt. K.Sudha, Assistant Professor, sudha.k@tanuvas.ac.in , Mobile: +91-9444702313

Department of Food Trade and Business Management
Thiru. M.Abdul Reiyas,Assistant Professor | abdulreiyas.m@tanuvas.ac.in |Mobile: +91-9840057062
Mrs.V.Nithyalakshmi, Assistant Professor, nithyalakshmi.v@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-9444005598
Dr.N.Karpoora Sundara Pandian, Assistant Professor, kspandian.n@tanuvas.ac.in, Mobile: +91-7845938847